Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on October 19, 2008 - 7:19pm.
The Avante Guardian wrote:
Very odd behavior on the PC yesterday, both IE and FireFox would not load www.google.com.
(only a "0" appearded in the upper left hand corner at google.com -Ed)
and when I tried to log into gmail, I was sent and asked to accept an apparently bogus security certificate.
(registered to "kitchensinks.n0t" - Ed).
I refused the certificate, ran an ad-aware and virus scan (didn't find anything) cleared temp directory, both browsers' cookie and cache directories, and was able to get back onto google.com and back into gmail, but then both problems have re-appearded again today.
Disconcertingly I 'aven't been able to find any virus/trojan/worm/spyware info relating to " kitchensinks.n0t " on the net as yet, so FYI this may be a brand new google hack.
For the time being, I would sugg that anyone on my _gmail contact list_ NOT open any mail that purports to be from me, particularly _containing videos or links_ because I haven't sent any.
and these malwares reportedly frequently multiply in the wild and spread via email contact lists.
Also somewhat disconcertingly I _exclusively_ use online web-based email like yahoo and gmail, so IF this thing injected onto my system _via_ email, it's EXTREMELY dangerous/advanced because I don't run standalone email programs like outlook or the like, because they can be rigged to run executable attachments.
Because of that precaution I 'ave my doubts that it came in through email. I think the most likely culprit is malware injection via java-code (on one of the websites I recently visited no doubt).
The Avante Guardian.
I've seen the same thing. Google woudn't load. Juyst got a "0" and I saw that stupid certificate from kitchensinks.n0t, too. I didn't accept it. I closed and reopened FireFox after restoring to defaults. Everything appears OK for the moment. How do we report somehting like this to Google? I set up a Google Alert for "kitchensinsks.n0t" and found your post after I didn't find anything on it myself.
klitchensinks.n0t
Very odd behavior on the PC yesterday, both IE and FireFox would not load www.google.com.
(only a "0" appearded in the upper left hand corner at google.com -Ed)
and when I tried to log into gmail, I was sent and asked to accept an apparently bogus security certificate.
(registered to "kitchensinks.n0t" - Ed).
I refused the certificate, ran an ad-aware and virus scan (didn't find anything) cleared temp directory, both browsers' cookie and cache directories, and was able to get back onto google.com and back into gmail, but then both problems have re-appearded again today.
Disconcertingly I 'aven't been able to find any virus/trojan/worm/spyware info relating to " kitchensinks.n0t " on the net as yet, so FYI this may be a brand new google hack.
For the time being, I would sugg that anyone on my _gmail contact list_ NOT open any mail that purports to be from me, particularly _containing videos or links_ because I haven't sent any.
and these malwares reportedly frequently multiply in the wild and spread via email contact lists.
Also somewhat disconcertingly I _exclusively_ use online web-based email like yahoo and gmail, so IF this thing injected onto my system _via_ email, it's EXTREMELY dangerous/advanced because I don't run standalone email programs like outlook or the like, because they can be rigged to run executable attachments.
Because of that precaution I 'ave my doubts that it came in through email. I think the most likely culprit is malware injection via java-code (on one of the websites I recently visited no doubt).
The Avante Guardian.
I've seen the same thing. Google woudn't load. Juyst got a "0" and I saw that stupid certificate from kitchensinks.n0t, too. I didn't accept it. I closed and reopened FireFox after restoring to defaults. Everything appears OK for the moment. How do we report somehting like this to Google? I set up a Google Alert for "kitchensinsks.n0t" and found your post after I didn't find anything on it myself.