A science fiction community and weblog
|
|
A science fiction community and weblog
|
|
User loginNavigationWho's onlineThere are currently 0 users and 102 guests online.
Sci-Fi Blogs of Note:: Airlock Alpha Search |
New forum topicsRecent comments
Popular contentToday's:PollPopular Topics |
Google Hack
I have been getting the EXACT same systems as you. The 0 in the corner AND the obviously bogus security certificate.
Very odd behavior on the PC yesterday, both IE and FireFox would not load www.google.com.
(only a "0" appearded in the upper left hand corner at google.com -Ed)
and when I tried to log into gmail, I was sent and asked to accept an apparently bogus security certificate.
(registered to "kitchensinks.n0t" - Ed).
I refused the certificate, ran an ad-aware and virus scan (didn't find anything) cleared temp directory, both browsers' cookie and cache directories, and was able to get back onto google.com and back into gmail, but then both problems have re-appearded again today.
Disconcertingly I 'aven't been able to find any virus/trojan/worm/spyware info relating to " kitchensinks.n0t " on the net as yet, so FYI this may be a brand new google hack.
For the time being, I would sugg that anyone on my _gmail contact list_ NOT open any mail that purports to be from me, particularly _containing videos or links_ because I haven't sent any.
and these malwares reportedly frequently multiply in the wild and spread via email contact lists.
Also somewhat disconcertingly I _exclusively_ use online web-based email like yahoo and gmail, so IF this thing injected onto my system _via_ email, it's EXTREMELY dangerous/advanced because I don't run standalone email programs like outlook or the like, because they can be rigged to run executable attachments.
Because of that precaution I 'ave my doubts that it came in through email. I think the most likely culprit is malware injection via java-code (on one of the websites I recently visited no doubt).
or the next likely culprit: Lavasoft is reporting that there is a new Facebook malware injection technique: click on a facebook-friend suggested video and you're prompted to download an upgrade of flash to view it.
but it's not a flash upgrade it's a malware payload.
(I was recently prompted to upgrade my flash software, just last week, so this one IS circumstantially possible)
Anyway I know nil about this bugger yet, and I can't find anyone else reporting these problems with
1. google
2. gmail logins
3. apparently bogus security certificates from kitchensinks.nOt.
On the plus side (for him, not so much for google - Ed) this thing appears to be mostly interested in targeting/killing google.
Also on the plus side, when I run netstat to trace my connections, I can find no evidence of my pc being connected to any unauthorized websites or services.
Anyway until more is known about wot the frag is going on, I would sugg:
1. that you not open any gmail allegedly from me.
2. if you click on a video (anywhere) and it prompts you to upgrade your version of flash, abort abort abort.
(and instead go to the flash homepage and do a manual update, if you're due for one -Ed)
3. don't accept/approve any security certificates that pop up when you hit google owned sites.
At least for the time being.
though I have been wondering: IF that kitchensinks.n0t certificate were really from google, THEN when I chose not to accept it, could that be causing all of these problems with google.com and gmail?
^Raise-Eyebrow.
Could I have participated in my own google demise?
Google wouldn't send a certificate flagged as source-unverified right?
seems highly unlikely but I never discount the possibility (and even probability - Ed) *cough* that I may well be the architect of my own demise.
[Pathud]
Anyway, if you are experiencing sim problems or can advise on how to cure this particular bugger, please let me know.
The Avante Guardian.