fbpx

Tagged: fantasy Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 10:15 am on October 23, 2020 Permalink |
    Tags: fantasy,   

    This list from @TIME claims to list the 100 best #fantasy #books of all time. Interestingly, nearly half of them were published in the last 10 years. https://t.co/HjAaE7O2ED

    top 100 fantasy books collage

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 8:39 am on December 14, 2016 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy,   

    Why do dwarves sound Scottish and elves sound like royalty? Blame Tolkien. https://t.co/2tGvYrRBoP

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 11:04 pm on July 31, 2015 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    A profile of famed fantasy author Michael Moorcock who doesn't have nice things to say about Tolkien. http://t.co/xIKV3xm1zN

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 8:01 am on November 25, 2013 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy,   

    The New Republic interviews Neil “The Rock Star” Gaiman, everyone’s favourite fantasy writer. http://ow.ly/r5iRz 

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 9:57 pm on August 22, 2013 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    Fans of Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone’s Fighting Fantasy books will enjoy this history of the genre. http://ow.ly/o68l5 

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 5:29 pm on October 18, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    Folks are agog that J.K. Rowling snobbishly confessed to not reading #scifi or #fantasy. Well, I’ve never read her. http://t.co/maHAkO8A

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 4:55 pm on March 27, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy, , Narnia   

    Ever dreamed of visiting Narnia? This wardrobe is the closest you’ll get. Beware the White Witch! http://t.co/FwgbdFpg

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 1:08 pm on March 10, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    Sad story about two Chinese girls who killed themselves so they could travel back in time as seen on a popular TV show. http://t.co/FP6nIFyo

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 3:35 am on March 7, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    Over at Slashdot, folks are outdoing each other as they recommend good, forgotten #scifi and #fantasy novels. http://t.co/lzZqqFj7

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 3:39 pm on February 2, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    I enjoyed this thought-provoking, although somewhat rambling and disjointed, essay about the rise of fantasy in films. http://t.co/zSTlNPHt

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 10:39 am on February 2, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    I enjoyed this thought-provoking, although somewhat rambling and disjointed, essay about the rise of fantasy in films.

    Here’s an excerpt:

    Lev Grossman and a number of Time reporters observed this intensifying phenomenon in a 2002 article titled “Feeding on Fantasy,” and Grossman aligned himself with the conclusion of earlier scholars. The reading public is always interested in fantastic tales because they intrigue the imagination, but the interest increases substantially when people are troubled by uncertainty or overwhelmed by doubt.

    I find it curious that fantasy and science fiction films are among the most popular at the box office, yet books with those themes generally are only enjoyed by a niche audience.

    http://ow.ly/8PG1M

     

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 4:13 pm on January 12, 2012 Permalink
    Tags: fantasy   

    Before getting to work on your fantasy novel, take this exam. Answer only one question incorrectly and you fail. http://t.co/u5MhGqwf

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 5:13 pm on December 21, 2011 Permalink
    Tags: , fantasy   

    An armourer discusses fantasy armour and lady bits. http://t.co/PfUrHktY

     
  • Capt. Xerox

    Capt. Xerox 1:58 am on March 24, 2011 Permalink
    Tags: , fantasy,   

    My Teacher Is an Alien, and We Have Sleepovers and other Inappropriate #scifi and #fantasy #books for Lil’ Nerds http://ow.ly/4lbPp

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel